Skip to content

Faculty

Soheila Amirsoleimani

Associate Professor, Persian

Soheila Amirsoleimani
Associate Professor, Persian
LNCO 1951
soheila.amirsoleimani@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1995, University of Michigan
Interests: Classical Persian texts; history, historiography, & the literature of the early Perso-Islamic world

Gary Atwood-Mendez

Assistant Professor (Lect.), Spanish

Gary Atwood-Mendez
Assistant Professor (Lect.), Spanish
LNCO 1213
gary.atwood@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2006, University of California, Irvine
Interests: Peninsular Literature and Culture, Poetry, Queer Studies

Shoji Azuma

Professor, Japanese

Shoji Azuma
Professor, Japanese
LNCO 1225
shoji_azuma@yahoo.co.jp

Education: Ph.D., 1991, University of Texas at Austin
Interests: Japanese studies, sociolinguistics, Japanese linguistics

Yoko Azuma

Instructor (Lecturer), Japanese

Yoko Azuma
Instructor (Lecturer), Japanese
LNCO 1311
y.azuma@utah.edu

Karin Baumgartner

Professor, German

Karin Baumgartner
Professor, German
801-585-3001 | LNCO 1323
karin.baumgartner@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1999, Washington University in St. Louis
Interests:
 Travel literature, the historical novel, Swiss Studies, feminist theories 1789-present, transnational literature

Vanessa Brutsche

Assistant Professor, French

Vanessa Brutsche
Assistant Professor, French
LNCO 1324
vanessa.brutsche@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Interests: 20th-21st century French and Francophone studies; film and media; memory studies; Holocaust studies; critical geography and the spatial humanities

Tim Cannon

Instructor (Lecturer), Spanish

Tim Cannon
Instructor (Lecturer), Spanish
LNCO 1966
tim.cannon@utah.edu

Education: M.A., University of Utah
Interests: Learning abroad, travel, second language acquisition and pedagogy, literature, culture, and Don Quixote.

KuanYi Chao

Instructor (Lecturer), Chinese

KuanYi Chao
Instructor (Lecturer), Chinese
801-585-3004 | LNCO 1419
kuanyi.chao@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2021, Indiana University

Alexis Christensen

Associate Professor (Lect.), Classics

Alexis Christensen
Associate Professor (Lecturer), Classics
801-581-6057 | LNCO 1419
alexis.christensen@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2006, Florida State University
Interests: Roman archaeology, Latin literature & epigraphy, mythology, classical reception, Roman history

Talía Dajes

Assistant Professor, Spanish

Talía Dajes
Assistant Professor, Spanish
801-585-3003 | LNCO 1421
t.dajes@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2013, University of Michigan
Interests: 
Latin American Literature, Film and Visual Culture

Thérèse De Raedt

Professor, French

Thérèse De Raedt
Professor, French
801-587-7766 | LNCO 1958
therese.de-raedt@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2000, University of California, Davis
Interests: Modern French literature & culture, film & visual culture, Francophone literatures & cultures

Nathan P. Devir

Associate Professor, Religious Studies

Nathan P. Devir
Associate Professor, Religious Studies
801-585-3000 LNCO 1325
nathan.devir@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2010, Pennsylvania State University
Interests: Religious Studies; Jewish Civilization; African Studies; Cultural Studies

Derek Driggs

Assistant Professor (Lecturer), Korean

Derek Driggs
Assistant Professor (Lecturer), Korean
LNCO 1328
derek.driggs@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D, 2023, University of Oxford
Interests: Pragmatics, honorifics and relational dynamics in East Asian languages, Korean literature and media, first and additional language acquisition.

Isabel Dulfano

Professor, Spanish

Isabel Dulfano
Professor, Spanish
LNCO 1956
id2@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1993, Yale University
Interests: Indigenous Feminist Studies; Business and Culture 

Christine Everaert

Associate Professor, Hindi

Christine Everaert
Associate Professor, Hindi
LNCO 1215
christine.everaert@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2006, Ghent University, Belgium
Interests: Hindi & Urdu 20th-century short stories; Comparative (socio-) linguistics between Hindi and Urdu; Subversive Indo-Pakistani literature; Sufism and Shi’ism in South Asia

Elizabeth Ewaskio

Instructor (Lecturer), Russian

Elizabeth Ewaskio
Instructor (Lecturer), Russian
LNCO 1319
elizabeth.ewaskio@utah.edu

Education: M.A., Middlebury College
Interests: Foreign Language Pedagogy, L2 Russian, Translation, Central Asia

Tanya Flores

Associate Professor, Spanish

Tanya Flores
Associate Professor, Spanish
801-581-5439 | LNCO 1209
tanya.flores@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2014, Indiana University Bloomington
Interests: Sociolinguistics, Phonetics

Maria Teresa Martínez García

Assistant Professor (Lecturer), Spanish

Maria Teresa Martínez García
Assistant Professor (Lect.), Spanish

Songdo Korea Campus

maria.martinezgarcia@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2016, University of Kansas

Katharina Gerstenberger

Professor, German

Katharina Gerstenberger
Professor, German
LNCO 1960
katharina.gerstenberger@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1993, Cornell University
Interests: Contemporary German literature; Environmental Humanities; women’s literature; feminist theory; autobiography studies; city literature

Michael Gruenbaum

Assistant Professor (Lect.), German

Michael Gruenbaum
Assistant Professor (Lect.), German
LNCO 1312
m.gruenbaum@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2012, University of Kansas
Interests: Germanic Language History, Philology & Dialectology; Mythology; Medievalism; Arthurian Romance; German Film; Old Norse and Danish

Gema Guevara

Associate Professor, Spanish

Gema Guevara
Associate Professor, Spanish
LNCO 1317
g.guevara@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1999, University of California, San Diego
Interests: Latin American Literature and Caribbean Studies

Blake Gutt

Assistant Professor, French

Blake Gutt
Assistant Professor, French
LNCO 1324
blake.gutt@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., King's College, University of Cambridge, 2018
Interests: Medieval French, Occitan, and Catalan literature; Queer & Transgender Theory; Medieval Trans Studies; Hagiography; Medieval  Visual Culture

Jane F. Hacking

Professor, Russian

Jane F. Hacking
Professor, Russian
LNCO 1954
j.hacking@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1993, University of Toronto
Interests: L2 Russian; L2 Phonology; Dual Language Immersion; Language Proficiency

Anna Murta Hodgson

Assistant Professor (Lect.), Portuguese

Anna Murta Hodgson
Assistant Professor (Lect.), Portuguese
LNCO 1211
anna.hodgson@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2018, University of Arkansas
Interests: Portuguese Language and Literature, Business Portuguese, Brazilian Cinema.

Sae Kawase

Instructor (Lecturer), Japanese

Sae Kawase
Instructor (Lect.), Japanese
801-581-7754 | LNCO 1425
sae.kawase@utah.edu

Education: M.A., 2002, Durham University (UK)
Interests: Japanese Language Pedagogy, Language Teaching and ICT, Curriculum Design

M. A. Mujeeb Khan

Asst. Professor of Japanese & Islamic Studies

M. A. Mujeeb Khan
Assistant Professor of Japanese and Islamic Studies
LNCO 1313
mujeeb.khan@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., University of Cambridge
Interests: Japan; Arab-Islamic World; East Asian (Sinitic) Cultural Sphere; Islamicate Cultural Sphere; Comparative Intellectual History; History of Science and Medicine; Religion, Science, and Law; Law and Society; Cross-cultural Representation; East-West Communication

Hyesun Kim

Assistant Professor (Lect.), Korean

Hyesun Kim
Assistant Professor (Lect.), Korean
LNCO 1223
hyesun.kim@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2018, University of Utah
Interests: Heritage language Education among Korean-American family, language ideologies and identities, Bilingual Education

Natalya Kuznetsova

Assistant Professor (Lect.), Russian

Natalya Kuznetsova
Assistant Professor (Lect.), Russian
LNCO 1207
natalya.kuznetsova@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2018, West Virginia University
Interests: Russian language pedagogy, bi/multilingualism, and identity, language ideology

Anne Lair

Professor (Lecturer), French

Anne Lair
Professor (Lecturer), French
LNCO 1212
anne.lair@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2003, The Ohio State University
Interests: The teaching of culture; pedagogy; cultural aspects of the French business world; the symbolism of culinary art in French culture, literature, and art

Ashton Lazarus

Assistant Professor, Japanese

Ashton Lazarus
Assistant Professor, Japanese
LNCO 1325
ashton.lazarus@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., Yale University
Interests: Classical and medieval Japanese literature; Sino-Japanese literature; folk performance; performance history; sound studies; sensory studies; translation

Christopher Lewis

Chair;  Associate Professor, Portuguese

Christopher Lewis
Chair; Associate Professor, Portuguese
801-581-4604 | LNCO 1417
christopher.t.lewis@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2011, Harvard University
Interests: 21st-century Brazilian Literature, Machado de Assis, time studies, intersections of music, politics, literature, and cinema throughout the Lusophone world

Giuliana Marple

Instructor (Lecturer), Italian 

Giuliana Marple
Instructor (Lecturer), Italian
LNCO 1303
g.c.marple@utah.edu

Education: M.A.T., University of Utah
BA, French Literature & International Relations, Brigham Young University

Joseph Metz

Associate Professor, German

Joseph Metz
Associate Professor, German
LNCO 1964
joseph.metz@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1999, Harvard University
Interests: Aesthetics and affect; the sublime; Austrian & German Realism & Modernism; Literary Theory; Lyric poetry; Contemplative pedagogy & empathy

Eunkyung Park

Instructor (Lecturer), Korean

Eunkyung Park
Instructor (Lecturer), Korean

Songdo Korea Campus eunkyung.park@utah.edu

Education: M.A., Ewha Womans University
Interests: Korean Culture, Contents-Based Instruction (CBI), Task-based Language Teaching (TBLT)

Brandon Peterson

Assistant Professor, Religious Studies

Brandon Peterson
Assistant Professor, Religious Studies
801-585-7292 | LNCO 1301
brandon.peterson@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2015, University of Notre Dame
Interests: Christian systematic theology, Christology and soteriology, interreligious dialogue and ecumenism

Alejandro Quin

Associate Professor, Spanish

Alejandro Quin
Associate Professor, Spanish
801-587-8524 | LNCO 1219
a.quin@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2011, University of Michigan
Interests: Latin American Literature and Culture

Shereen Salah

Instructor (Lecturer), Arabic

  

Shereen Salah
Instructor (Lecturer), Arabic
801-585-0639 LNCO 1226
shereen.salah@utah.edu

Education: M.A., 2008, Brigham Young University
Interests: Second Language Acquisition, Business Arabic, Mastering Arabic through Debate, Arabic Culture, Middle Eastern  History, Translation.

  

Jacqueline Sheean

Assistant Professor, Spanish

Jacqueline Sheean
Assistant Professor, Spanish
LNCO 1423
j.sheean@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., USC
Interests: 20th and 21st Spanish Peninsular Literature, Film, and Visual Culture; Media Studies; Memory Studies; Critical Theory; Architecture and Urbanism; Surrealism; Experimental and Documentary Cinema.

Meijie Shen

Visiting Assistant Professor, Chinese

Meijie Shen
Visiting Assistant Professor, Chinese
LNCO 1402
meijie.shen@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2022, Washington University in St. Louis
Interests: Chinese Buddhism, Women's Culture and Literature

Cindi Textor

Assistant Professor, Japanese

Cindi Textor
Assistant Professor, Japanese
801-581-4608 | LNCO 1205
cindi.textor@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2016, University of Washington
Interests: modern Japanese literature, modern Korean literature, Zainichi literature, empire and post- colonialism, critical race studies, translation

Deberniere Torrey

Associate Professor, Korean

Deberniere "Bunny" Torrey
Associate Professor, Korean
801-581-7990 | LNCO 1221
d.torrey@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2010, Pennsylvania State University
Interests: Korean culture, religion, & literature; religion & identity; intellectual history & identity; East-West exchange & influence

Margaret Toscano

 Associate Professor, Classics

Margaret Toscano
 Associate Professor, Classics
801-581-4768 | LNCO 1968
margaret.toscano@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2002, University of Utah
Interests: gender & sexuality, myth & religion, reception of ancient Classical world in film, Mormon feminism

Margaret Wan

Professor, Chinese

Margaret Wan
Professor, Chinese
801-581-6059 | LNCO 1952
margaret.wan@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2000, Harvard University
Interests: Popular culture in Late Imperial China; Chinese vernacular fiction of the Ming & Qing; martial arts novels; Digital Humanities

Elizabeth Warren

Assistant Professor (Lecturer), Spanish

Elizabeth Warren
Assistant Professor (Lecturer), Spanish
LNCO 1316
elizabeth.warren@utah.edu

Education: PhD, University of California, Los Angeles
Interests: Contemporary Peninsular literature and film; post-Franco Spanish politics; historical memory; Iberian national identities

Fusheng Wu

Professor, Chinese

Fusheng Wu
Professor, Chinese
LNCO 1315
fusheng.wu@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 1995, Brown University
Interests: Classical Chinese poetry, East-West comparative literature and poetics, translation studies

John Wynne

Associate Professor, Classics

John Wynne
Associate Professor, Classics
LNCO 1321
john.wynne@utah.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2008, Cornell University
Interests: Ancient Greek and Roman philosophy, especially of the Hellenistic and later periods; Cicero; philosophy of religion and philosophical skepticism

Yichun Xu

Instructor (Lecturer), Chinese

Yichun Xu
Instructor (Lecturer), Chinese
LNCO 1401
u6053033@utah.edu

Education:  Ph.D. candidate, East Asian Languages and Literatures, The Ohio State University
Interests: Modern Chinese literature and culture, topolect literature and culture, translation and translation studies.

 

 

 

 

 

Last Updated: 6/5/24